8 Highly Dangerous Words!

Words have power. Words produce emotions and emotions produce actions. Hence, the words we use may or may not produce action we want. Given below is the list of eight words which generally produce negative emotions and hence fail to produce the action we want. Suggestions about how we can replace these negative emotions producing words with positive emotions producing words have also been given:

  1. But

This word negates everything said before it.

Substitute And Statement for But Statement

Don’t Say:

I respect your work but I don’t agree with this new idea.

Say:

I respect your work and I have reservations about this new idea.

Don’t Say:

I understand your point but you are missing mine.

Say:

I understand your view and I would like you to understand mine.

  1. Try

This word presupposes failure. Refuse to be seduced by ‘TRY’

Don’t Say:

I will try

Say:

I promise to ……..

Don’t Say:

I will try very hard

Say:

I commit to …….

Don’t Say:

I will try my best

Say:

I will……

  1. If

This word presupposes that you might not.  Replace ‘IF’ with ‘WHEN’

Don’t Say:

If you work hard, you will succeed.

Say:

When you work hard, you will succeed.

Don’t Say:

If he comes, we will go to the class.

Say:

When he comes, we will go to the class.

 

  1. Can’t

This word is in a class of words called negations. Eliminate the word can’t from your sentences

Don’t Say:

I can’t complete this order in 10 days.

Say:

I will complete this order in 14 days.

Don’t Say:

He can’t make 100 calls in a day.

Say:

He can make 90 calls in a day.

 

  1. Might

This word means Maybe yes-May be not.  Replace might by will/do/can

Don’t Say:

We might fulfill your order in 10 days.

Say:

We will fullfill your order in 14 days.

Don’t Say:

He might not make 100 calls in a day.

Say:

He can make 80 calls in a day.

 

  1. Would
  2. Could
  3. Should

All have negative impact on power of your message.  Use Strong Verbs

Don’t Say:

I would like to complete this by tomorrow.

Say:

I will complete this by tomorrow.

Don’t Say:

Perhaps; you could consider our new products.

Say:

Our new products will definitely excite you.

Don’t Say:

We should offer better service to the customers.

Say:

I must provide better service to our customers.

 

Choose your words well to get the action you want!

 

We conduct workshop on ‘Communication Skills Improvement’ and many other soft skills training programs both for industries, educational institutes and individuals. We also offer a few programs like ‘Shine under Stress (Strategies to Succeed in Exams)’, ‘Seven Laws of Teaching’, ‘Student’s Behaviour Management’ etc. pro bono to educational institutes Please visit link http://bit.ly/sarwansingh or write to us at sarwansingh6644@gmail.com  or englishacademybaroda@gmail.com or call (91)8866680407 for further details..

By:

Sarwan Singh

@sarwan_singh

http://singhsarwan.blogspot.com

Leave a comment